It’s time to put words to paper – or bits to HTML maybe? Whatever the case, I think it’s time to put my running schedule out there so that I can hold myself a little more accountable and also make things a little more “real”.

I’m taking a different approach to this year, having dealt with injury for the majority of 2014 and participating in a lot of events, never really getting back on track after May. I don’t regret going to all of those events, because I had a lot of fun, learned a lot and met a lot of fantastic people. That being said, I really want to see significant improvements in my results this year so I have to dial certain things back and see how my body responds to a “less is more” approach.

I’m focusing on speed and strength for the first half of the year, while slowly building up my mileage. For now, I’m running every other day and it has been going really well. The first half of 2015 is focused on taking a run (no pun intended) at my half marathon PB. Regardless of what happens with that, I am then going to get into a training cycle for my major goal race of the year, the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon in October, where I am hoping to get another PB. I’m also racing some 10k events this year, rather than 5ks, as I feel as though this will help my speed endurance for the half and full.

Here is what my schedule looks like so far;

February Hypothermic Half Marathon in Moncton, NB. I have done this event the past two winters and really enjoyed it. Last year I got a PB here (1:46:50) and while I don’t expect to better that next month, my pace there will determine my training pace for the next few races. I’m also volunteering the next weekend at the Amherst Strider’s Valentine Day Run. I’m excited to pitch in and help out with the best running group I know. Striders rule.

March – No races schedule. If a local race pops up I may do it, but I’m more likely just to keep March clear and continue building.

April – The Lorneville Loop in Lorneville, NB. This is a 13km race that happens just outside of Saint John. It was a fantastic deal pricewise at only 20 dollars and by all reports it is a well-organized, fun and fairly hilly race. It should be a good test to see how my speed and strength training is paying off – or at least if it needs to be tweaked.

May – I haven’t registered for it yet, but I will be doing the 10 km event at the Fredericton Marathon weekend. It fits in well with my schedule and it’s a flat course so I’m hoping to achieve a good time here. I’m certainly not setting a specific goal for myself, but I will as it gets closer.

June – The first race I registered for in 2015 was the half marathon at the Johnny Miles running weekend. This is one of the two “major” races I have targeted for the year. I will be doing a targeted training schedule from the Hypo Half until Johnny Miles and I’m very excited to see how it turns out.

July/August – I have nothing scheduled at all for these two months. That may change, but in all likelihood I will resist doing a race, as I will be very focused on my training for the full marathon in October. Please feel free to remind me of this as the summer gets closer and the temptation to do ALL of the races gets stronger.

September 

Nothing scheduled yet but I’m still hopeful for get a team together for the Rum Runners Relay from Halifax to Lunenberg. If that doesn’t happen, I would love a chance to race the Fall Classic in Fredericton.

October  

I’ve already registered for the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon and I am so super stoked about it. The course is supposed to be good, it always brings one of the most elite fields in the country and it will be a chance to see some of the fantastic people I met last July. If the year goes well, running my third full marathon will be an awesome way to wrap up the running season!

I would love to hear from any of you reading this to hear what events and adventures you have planned for 2015. Let me know by leaving a comment below. Here’s to a great year!

Happy running!!

