Tags

i-mustache-you-a-question-4

I was nominated by Carmy over at carmyy.com to answer a few questions about myself – and it turned out much longer and wordier than I intended. So, without further ado, here is more than you ever wished to know about Paul!

1. Four names that people call me, other than my real name:

Bogs

Boggers

Dad

That’s all I’ve got. Maybe, people like my name? I dunno…

2. Four jobs I have had:

Guidance Counsellor

Community Manager/Planner

Teacher

Freelance Writer

3. Four movies that I have watched more than once:

The Lost Boys (Loved it when I was younger, even had the soundtrack)

Zombieland (Representative of my love of all things zombie)

Despicable Me (Love watching it with my sons – also the sequel)

Wedding Crashers (My wife and I consistently crack up at this. Christopher Walken is so funny, as is the actor playing Walken’s son in this movie “Death, you are my bitch lover!!” “Tell that mean, old ocean, Todd!”

4. Four Books I recommend:

I can’t in good conscience only recommend four books. I love reading far too much. I will try and lump some together though 

The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling – easy and fun reads, I have read the entire series several times.

The Tao of Pooh/The Te of Piglet by Benjamin Hoff. I read both of these in undergrad and have reread them several times. Very interesting way of explaining the eastern philosophy of the Tao Te Ching.

Eat and Run by Scott Jurek/Born to Run by Christopher McDougall. I’ve read (and am reading) a LOT of books about running but these two stand out as my favorites. Born to Run is just a well written book and a fascinating read. The Jurek book is one I really like as he talks a lot about plant based eating without being critical or preachy about those who don’t have the same diet. Also, the book contains a lot of very interesting recipes that he uses as part of his training and racing.

The Hobbit – I DO have a son named Tolkien, so I would be remiss not to have something by him on my list. I love the LOTR books, but the Hobbit is an easier ride and I also have pleasant memories of reading this book to my sons when they were younger. Keeping all of those dwarves straight is no easy task!!

5. Four places I have lived:

Buchans, Newfoundland. I was born there and spent the first 12 years of my life there. It will always be my hometown.

Corner Brook, Newfoundland. I moved there after grade 6. Graduated high school from there. It’s a nice enough place, but I didn’t enjoy my time there and never felt like I belonged there.

Port Hope Simpson, Labrador. This is where Stacey and I spent most of the first year of our married life together. It was very cold and pretty lonely, but it really was a great experience and taught us a lot. We were spoiled by frequent displays of the Northern Lights, which we still miss.

Sackville, NB. I’m not sure about the math, but by this point, I may have lived in Sackville more than any other place. Stacey and I met as undergrad students attending Mount Allison and moved back here when the boys were not quite 3 and 1. We have a strong connection to this place and feel quite fortunate to have raised our children here.

6. Four Places I have been:

I’m going to change this to 4 places I’ve been with my family, as I travelled a lot when I was younger, but none of that compares to my experiences with my wife and kids.
Orlando, Fl. Being huge Harry Potter fans, we made the pilgrimage to Universal Studios a couple of years ago to do the Wizarding World of Harry Potter (among other things, as well as Disney). So. Much. Fun.

Niagara Falls, On/NY. Probably one of the most perfect days we had as a family was on July 4th a couple of summers ago. We spent a beautiful day doing the various touristy things around the falls, including the Maid of the Mist. The kids loved it, our pace was relaxed even though the day was jam packed. We finished it off by watching an amazing fireworks display over the falls to celebrate the 4th.

Boston, Ma. Although Stacey wasn’t with us on this one, the boys and I took my father to Boston last summer for a Red Sox game. It wasn’t that any of us were huge baseball fans, it was a chance to do something with three generations of the family that all of us were experiencing for the first time. We saw penguins, did a duck tour and walked around Harvard. Awesome.

Geowoodstock. The world’s largest geocaching event. We used to geocache a lot as a family and did a roadtrip to Pennsylvania, where it was being hosted a few years ago. There were lots of other awesome stops along the way (including Cooperstown and Ithaca, NY, Niagara Falls and Toronto) and it was amazing from start to finish.

7. Four places I would rather be right now:

Not to sound cheesy, but I don’t think there are places I would rather be. As long as I’m with my family, I’m a pretty happy person. There are places I would like to visit, so I’ll go with that instead.

New Zealand/Australia – I’ve always wanted to visit both of these countries. Love the accents and would really love to spend some time in each place.

Machu Picchu – This is my number one bucket list place to see. I have no idea why, but I have always been fascinated with the story and every time I see a picture or read a story about someone’s visit, the pull gets stronger.

Japan – We have friends from here, have met quite a few people from there and both of our children would love to go. Hopefully, someday we will get there. I would love to immerse myself in such a different culture and truly experience it.

Boston – For the marathon, as a qualifier. Hey, it’s a running blog, right? I’m strangely confident that this one will happen someday. I know most of that is within my control and that it will take a lot of work. I also know that it will be worth it.

8. Four things I don’t eat:

Shrimp. I actually used to eat this but developed an allergy. I don’t know if this allergy affects other shellfish now but I don’t feel like getting violently ill in order to find out. It sucks.

Liver. It just tastes awful. Awful, awful, awful.

Condiments. Other than occasionally putting ketchup on things, I don’t eat condiments. I don’t like mustard, mayo, relish, etc etc etc.

Soylent Green. It’s made of people. Peeeeeeeople!!!!!

9. Four of my favourite foods:

Eggs benedict.

Bacon

Turkey a la king (my mom’s recipe, made by her or me. No substitutions)

Guacamole. Nom nom nom.

10. Four TV Shows I watch(ed):

Dr Who. Had heard about this for a while, started watching it with my sons and now we are all hooked. So fun. We now have cats named after two of the companions (River and Amy).

The Walking Dead. I love this show. As previously mentioned, I love all things zombie so this was kind of a no brainer (get it??)

Once Upon a Time. Yes, it’s Disney, but I really, really like this show. Robert Carlyle as Mr. Gold/Rumpelstiltskin is one of my favourite performances ever. It’s amazing.

Breaking Bad. I’m not alone in loving this show, but it really was awesome.

11. Four things I am looking forward to in 2015:

Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon – I had a blast meeting some amazing runners/people in Toronto last July for a couple of trail races. I have decided to make this marathon my main goal for the year. It should ease the pressure of training too hard over the winter, but should be an incredible experience!

Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure – In April we are planning a return trip to Orlando to check out the latest expansion to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. The kids are a little bit older and independent, so it will definitely be a lot of fun. I can’t wait to get back on those rides!! Eeeee!

Meeting more runners & sharing my experiences – I loved meeting so many fantastic people last year and aim to meet many more this year. The running community is amazing!!

Adventure and the unknown – Each year brings with it surprises, not always good but always interesting and always capable of improving your life in one way or another. Sometimes obstacles or detours lead you to even more exciting paths – buckle up and enjoy the ride!

12. Four things I am always saying:

“Have you seen my _________ ?” (keys, gloves, wallet, etc etc etc). I’m working on it.

“Seriously??” (Said especially often to my sons and of late, the cats. All four of these critters are weird on a regular basis. And I love it.)

“Doh!/Help me Jebus!/Why yes, I AM interested in long distance savings. Verrrrrry interested” And many, many other Simpsons quotes. They have a quote for every situation. Always.

“An Americano for here, please”. I drink a lot of coffee.

I would like to thank Carmy for asking me to do this. It’s been a lot of fun and very interesting. I’m supposed to tag other bloggers to do this, so I will do my best – and pick other Atlantic Canadian runners!!

Rod

Anna

Molly

You’re up!

Happy running!!!

