Jan 1st, 2015.

Jan 1st, 2015.

Although I am not a big fan of resolutions, I am trying to develop some new and regular routines in 2015. I firmly believe that setting new goals and establishing new, healthy habits can be done whenever you please but a new calendar year with Stacey and the boys all back in school seems like a good time to focus on some projects.

I definitely want to write more consistently on this blog, as it is something I enjoy doing and is part of me tracking my own progress with running, as well as my mental health. My plan is to write three posts a week – on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

For those who read my posts in a timely fashion, you will notice that this post was published on a Tuesday – a semi-ominous start to a new routine. I could use that as an excuse to quite before I start but I think it’s actually a very good thing to simply say to myself “No big deal”. And pick up where I left off – the beginning in this case.

My Monday posts are going to review the previous 7 days of training, so without further ado;

Monday, December 29th to Sunday, January 4th

Monday – 20 Km, long slow distance. This was the longest run I have completed since doing the half marathon in PEI in October. I am slowly trying to build up my mileage. I have been running every other day since late November, with the occasional exception. I have resisted the urge to run more frequently or run harder very often in an effort to stem the tide of injuries I have experienced the past couple of years. So far, so good. I have also been good about doing 30-45 minutes of stretching after any runs exceeding 10 km. Shorter runs have been rare, but still have some post-run stretching involved.

Tuesday – Rest day.

Wednesday – Ordinarily, I would run here – but with a special, local event planned for Thursday (January 1st) I decided discretion was the better part of valour. Or insert some other appropriate cliché, if you wish. Long way of saying – rest day.

Thursday – 15 km, hilly run. This was the second consecutive you I have started by joining the Tantramar Outdoor club and running the Michaud Meander. This run involved running the entire distance of King Street – 7.6 km with over a 400 foot vertical climb from bottom to top, with more actual climbing due to several rolling hills (aside from the doozies that feel straight up). As last year, I did up and back. I intentionally did not wear my Garmin and went at a comfortable and steady pace. It was cold, but nice – a great way to start the year. Did a lot of stretching afterwards – close to an hour of slow, long held positions. Felt great!

Friday – Rest Day

Saturday – 10 km at 5:45/km pace. Not quite a tempo run, but I’m slowly whittling down my per/km pace at what I would describe as “comfortable but not easiest”. My goal is to get this as close to 5min/km for 16-20 km by the spring as possible. Light stretching afterwards, 20 minutes.

Sunday – Rest Day

Total Mileage – 45 km over three runs.

The week ahead – I will be starting to add stationary bike cross training at least twice a week and am also starting to attend a weekly yoga class again starting on Thursday. The yoga is as much for calmness and mental health as it is for running, but I really enjoyed going to class at Nava Yoga regularly all fall and am excited to return!

Look for another new post tomorrow!

Happy running!!

