Tags

, , , ,

It is now less than 7 weeks until the Fredericton Marathon is in the books. I wish I could say there has been a noticeable shift in the weather as spring has arrived, but it would be a big fat lie. Ridiculously low temperatures and yet another storm in the forecast have kept my singlets and short shorts safely tucked into my “for gym use only” drawer for now. Hopefully I will get some long runs in wearing some lighter gear and fewer layers. Of course, there is always the chance that May will still be like this – dear god, I hope not.

My dad always said that when he retired he was going to put his snow-blower in the back of his truck and drive south. As soon as he got somewhere that someone asked “Hey, what’s that strange contraption you’ve got there?” he was going to stop driving and settle down. As my parents have become snowbirds the last two winters, that’s pretty much exactly what happened. But I digress…

Training went well this week as I got in all of my scheduled workouts without any issue. It was the highest mileage week I’ve had in 2014 at 57 km and included my longest single run of the year (28 km) and a 5 km race. The race was a little spur of the moment with only a couple of days notice. I may have pushed a bit too hard, but I didn’t feel like I was going all out and I still had my best time to date since my return to running – 22:58. It’s nice to see that even without focusing much on speed, I’m still making gains just from the volume of training I am doing weekly.  

I’ve almost peaked my long run distance as I will top out at 32 km prior to race day – I will get at least two runs of that distance in if the weather cooperates. I am also looking forward to the trans-canada trail being snow free as I would love to get some runs done on the trail as opposed to everything being done on pavement or concrete. The marathon itself has a large portion on the trail, so it’s always nice to get your legs used to whatever surface you’ll be racing on in my experience.

I’m at the point now where I need to trust the training and not overdo things or get too bored. Ideally, I would have one more race between now and the marathon, but there is nothing that really fits properly into my schedule and also works time and money wise. C’est la vie!

What races in the short term and mid-term do you have coming up? Are you dreading the taper or looking forward to seeing your hard work pay off? Leave a comment here- I’d love to know what everyone else is planning for this mysterious enigma called “spring”.

Happy running!!

