Tags

,

If you have ever had your laces come undone during a race or even just during a training run, you are well aware of how annoying it can be. For me the only thing more annoying is when you can feel the lace loosening and you know it’s just a matter of time before you have to stop and tie it. You keep saying to yourself “Maybe I’m just imagining it.” Or “Maybe it will stay tied just a little while longer” or other such lies.

A little while ago while browsing Netflix, I stumbled across a little three minute Ted Talk in the “life hack” grouping titled “How To Tie Your Shoes” featuring a man by the name of Terry Moore. Not much of a secret or “life hack”, right? (For the record, I generally LOATHE the term “life hack”).

It turns out that this little video has been a pretty awesome find. By slightly altering how I tie my laces, they have rarely come undone. This is a big deal for me as previous to this my laces would come undone at least once during more than half of my runs. I’m not sure why that is, as I’ve got well over thirty years of shoelace tying experience.

Check out the video and if you haven’t tried it before – try it out and let me know how it goes for you. If you have stumbled across any similar finds on youtube or elsewhere online, please leave a comment and share your find!

